A few nice things to say about Kato clay, reluctantly…

I am entering Fire Mountain Gems beading contest this year, and the clay is Kato Clay. Unfortunately. I hate Kato clay. It stinks to the high heavens to my sensitive olfactory cells, and it is tough. Like Classic Fimo tough. My cold little hands just can’t condition it. Since it performs so much like Fimo did, I sometimes wonder why it is manufactured. However-

I was forced to buy some in order to compete. I ordered my four necessary colors. One of them was actually smooth and noticeably easier to condition than the other three. But the other three colors…omg, it took me all freekin’ day to make the components for my piece, which would have taken a couple of hours if made from my current favorite clay, Premo. As for my finished product, it is incredibly gorgeous. I have this to say about my experience using Kato clay-

although it took three times as long to condition and ready the clay in order to create my pieces, the sheen and the absolute lack of fingerprints was almost worth it. If made from Premo the same items would have had a dull finish and since everything I make is curvilinear, it is almost impossible to sand smoothly. So- the flawless, printless, sheen-y finish is very nice. I am certain that if made in Premo, the same items would have had prints on them and I would have had to spend a lot of time getting them out before baking. I guess it’s due to the extreme firmness of the Kato that it didn’t pick up my prints while I was working it.

Competition deadline is April 15th- so I’ll be posting pictures then. I can’t wait to see what I’m up against when all the entries go in 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under bead

2 responses to “A few nice things to say about Kato clay, reluctantly…

  1. Barbara

    Can’t wait to see what you’ve made! I’m always amazed at the incredible things you can make — I don’t stick with it long enough to make something that nice. (Just call me The Dabbler — it’s like a new Batman villianess!)

    My friend Arbel loves *loves* LOVES the Kato polyclay… she works with miniature canes, making leaves and flower petals, though.

  2. I agree with you about Kato Clay-it’s a pain to condition, but it yields wonderful results. I do mostly canework, and the canes are so much easier slice cleanly. However, it is not available retail, so it’s quite pricey for me, and besides I have a huge stash of Fimo Soft I should be using instead.

Leave a Reply

